Junk Removal

The other day I noticed one of those hand painted, cardboard signs nailed on a telephone pole at an intersection.  It read, “Junk Removal.”  There was a telephone number to call if you were interested in having your junk removed.junk

I have never seen a sign like that before.  Since then however, I have seen several.  It made me think about my own junk.  I thought about the unnecessary stuff I have collected around my house.

I also thought about the unnecessary things I have collected in my life – things that weigh me down, keep me from being productive and most importantly, keep me from a close walk with God.

This may sound crazy, but God spoke to me through that sign.  He reminded me that He is the only one who can remove the junk in my life, and that He is the expert in junk removal.  I have to admit, at times, there is a lot of junk in my life.

The Apostle Paul spoke of the things that weigh us down and keep us from running the race God has set before us.  In Hebrews 12:2 he said, “Therefore, since we have so great a cloud of witnesses surrounding us, let us also lay aside every encumbrance  (junk) and the sin which so easily entangles us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us.”

I thought of the various kinds of junk in my life.  Some of the junk is leftover from years of struggle with a low self-image.  Some of it is garbage from unhealthy habits that, like a bad smell, just will not go away.  Sometimes the junk is imagined and other times it is real.  Nevertheless, junk is junk, and only by the grace and mercy of God can I remove it from my life.  In reality, the Holy Spirit is the only successful junk remover!

When the junk piles up so high, we can’t see beyond it, and before you know it, all we can see is junk.   The junk begins to define who we are, and tragically, we see ourselves as nothing more than junk.  At this point, we need to remember, GOD DOES NOT MAKE JUNK, and the junk did not come from Him!

Furthermore, He does not like to see junk in my life!  In fact, He hates junk.  In the Bible God calls this junk sin, and He tells us that Jesus came into the world, died on a cross and rose again from the dead to take away this junk from my life.

Is there junk in your life that you need to get rid of?  Are there things that encumber your race that weighs you down and keeps you from becoming all that God designed you to be?  Has the Devil convinced you that you are nothing more than a piece of junk?  Instead of listening to the devil’s lies, remember, you are precious in God’s sight, and He loves you so much that He gave His only Son that you might have a junk free life!  Second, Jesus says, “He came that you might have life and have it in abundance.”  He has a life to give you that is free of junk!

What do we do with our junk?  How do we get it out of our lives?  We cannot bury it.  We cannot hide it, or ignore it.   The first step in junk removal is to recognize it, call it what it is, and turn it over to Christ – the One who died for our junk!

Here is what God’s Word says about removing the junk from our lives.  “If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.  If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”  1 John 1:8-9 (NASB)

Would you call upon Him today?  Right now!  Let God take care of the junk in your life today.

About Larry Doyle

Larry is the Director of Missions for the Piedmont Baptist Association. He has served overseas with the International Mission Board (SBC), in Charlotte NC as the Director of International Ministries, and as a pastor in North Carolina and Kentucky. He is married to Rebekah Hill, a native of Greensboro NC, and has two children and three grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Matters of the heart. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Junk Removal

  1. ClearMyJunk says:

    A people belonging to old custom and tradition belief that junk removal is a task which is completed by people of poor or lower class, but if we talk about the current situation. Things have changed junk removal has become a profession of high earning and a number of people have joined it as entrepreneurs.

Leave a Reply

