ABCs of the BEST YEAR YET

I usually do not make New Year’s resolutions.  Not because I don’t want to change, but because I realize resolutions have little or no power, in and of themselves, and most resolutions don’t last more than a few weeks at best.  However, I’m making an exception this year.  I do have a New Year’s resolution; in fact, I have three.  I’m calling them the ABCs of my best year yet!  I thought it might encourage you if I shared them with you.  Here is a very brief summary of what I’m dreaming about for the coming year.

First, I’m praying for more AWARENESS.  (Eph. 1:15-23) I realize many of my mistakes and failures in the past came from a lack of being aware – aware of myself and aware of God’s presence in my life.  Self-awareness begins with knowing who I am, and how God has shaped me for His purposes.  Good self-awareness is inseparably linked to the biblical experience of God-awareness.  Self-awareness without God-awareness is, at best, shallow and self-serving.  When we are aware of God’s eternal, divine presence, the day-to-day routines of our lives are catapulted to a new level.  Without this awareness, everything remains caged in the prisons of our desires and limitations – It’s all about me, and what I want.  When God is factored in, an entire new dimension opens up – an eternal design and purpose.  I want more of both!

Second, I’m asking God to give me more BOLDNESS in how I live out my faith. (Eph. 6:19-20)  Specifically, I’m asking for boldness and courage to share my faith, to reach across barriers, and touch lives with God’s love, and to step out courageously into new opportunities and challenges.  Boldness is not something that comes naturally to me, nor is it something I can create.  In reality, it is a gift from God.  And, like all of His gifts, dependent upon the Giver – His Holy Spirit.  Boldness comes when I have confidence in what God has done, and is doing.  I am praying through prayer and His Word, God will instill in me a boldness beyond my imagination!

Third, by God’s grace, I am praying for more CONSISTENCY in my life.  (Eph 3:14-21)  In today’s culture, and at this point in my life and ministry, being consistent is critically important.  For me, the key to consistency in my life is prayer.  Prayer is more than talking to God, or listening to God.  Prayer is spending time with God, enjoying His presence, and worshiping Him.  Essentially, prayer can be defined as a growing, healthy relationship with God.  Consistent, dependable prayer is the first step toward consistency in other areas of life.  If, however, I fail to follow through in my walk with God, I cannot expect to have consistency in other relationships in my life.

What are your ABCs for the coming year?  What two or three things, if they became a reality, would dramatically impact your life, your church, and your ministry this coming year?

About Larry Doyle

Larry is the Director of Missions for the Piedmont Baptist Association. He has served overseas with the International Mission Board (SBC), in Charlotte NC as the Director of International Ministries, and as a pastor in North Carolina and Kentucky. He is married to Rebekah Hill, a native of Greensboro NC, and has two children and three grandchildren.
This entry was posted in Matters of the heart, Spiritual renewal, Strengths. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

